Statehood Day of Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura

How did Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya attain Statehood?

According to the sixth schedule of the Indian constitution, within Assam, Meghalaya was made an autonomous state through the Assam Reorganisation (Meghalaya) Act 1969.

On their Statehood Day, which falls on January 21, PM Narendra Modi wished the citizens of Tripura, Manipur, and Meghalaya.  All three states attained full statehood on this day. In October 1949, Tripura and Manipur, both princely states, united with India. The Assam lowlands of the former Assam Province, the hill districts, and the North Easter Frontier Tracts (NEFT) of the North-Eastern frontier made up the North East's regional make-up at the time of independence. Additionally, Manipur and Tripura, two Indian princely territories, joined in 1949.

Manipur and Tripura states received the designation of "Union Territories" in 1949. Statehood was awarded to Nagaland on December 1st, 1963.



 The states of Assam and Mizoram border it on the east, while Bangladesh (East Bengal) borders it on the north, south, and west. In Tripura, the ethnic and linguistic majority is composed of Hindu Bengalis. The scheduled tribes (indigenous communities) make up around 30% of the population of Tripura. The majority of the 19 tribes are those who speak the Kokborok language. The southwest monsoon brings seasonal heavy rainfall to Tripura, which has a tropical savannah climate. More than half of the region is covered by forests.  Tripurans dance in a variety of styles and enjoy festivals, weddings, and religious celebrations.


Before August 15th, 1947, nearly all states whose territories were adjacent to India's new borders had been incorporated into the Indian Union through peaceful agreements.

The majority of the state's leaders decided to join the Union of India by signing an agreement known as the "Instrument of Accession."

The Maharaja of Manipur, Bodhachandra Singh, signed the Instrument of Accession with the Indian government a few days before Independence on the condition that Manipur's internal autonomy would be preserved. So, the first universal adult franchise election in India was held in Manipur.


In 1947 the rulers of the Garo and Khasi region acceded to the newly independent country of India. Meghalaya, a small hilly state located in the North Eastern Region of India, came into existence as an autonomous state within the state of Assam on 2nd April 1970 comprising the United Khasi and Jaintia Hills and the Garo Hills districts.


  • In 1972, the political map of Northeast India underwent a major change.
  • The two Union Territories of Manipur and Tripura and the Sub-State of Meghalaya got statehood.